RSS

Getting to Know – Lori Wilde

17 Aug

loriI would like to introduce someone who probably doesn’t need an introduction to anyone who reads romance.  I met Lori when she came to Des Moines to do her High Concept workshop.  Needless to say, it was very enlightening and entertaining.  Lori is both a talented writer as well as an accomplished speaker and if you get a chance to attend her High Concept workshop, do it.  You won’t regret it.  I hope you enjoy her interview.

Now let’s see what Lori has to say:

VirginiaWhere are you from?

 Lori – I’m a native Texan.

 Virginia – How long have you been writing?

 LoriHmm, I wrote my first short story when I was eight years old, but if you mean when did I get serious about writing?  That was 1990.

 Virginia – What do you write?

Lori – Sexy, humorous contemporary romances with a small town feel and a strong sense of community.

 Virginia – Tell us a little about your publisher and agent.

 Lori – My agent is Jenny Bent of the Bent agency.  I’m currently published with Harlequin and Avon Books.

 Virginia How many books have you published so far?

 Lori – My forty-third book just came up but I have four more in the pipeline waiting for release.

 Virginia – What is your writing day like?

 Lori – It varies.  If its deadline crunch time I might write twenty hours a day.  But in a normal writing day I try to get to the computer first thing in the morning and write for three or four hours.  I take a lunch break, exercise, check e-mail and then I teach my writing classes online.  I average 2 – 3000 words a day on non-crunch days.  The most I’ve ever written in one day is 10,000.

 Virginia Can you tell us how you found a publisher and/or agent?

 Lori – I got my first publisher through a contest win. My agent found me after she read a book of mine that she loved.

 VirginiaDo you have anything that just came out?

 LoriI’m in an anthology with Stephanie Bond and Leslie Kelly called Sand, Sun, Seduction that’s on sale now.

sand_sun_seduction_L

VirginiaWhat are you working on now?

 Lori – I’m in between contracts at Harlequin and Avon, so I’m working on a brand new project.  It’s a romantic suspense.

 

knitting_club_L

Sweethearts Knitting Club – Coming soon! 

VirginiaDo you have some words of wisdom for us unpubs?

 Lori – Read, read, read.  Write, write, write.  Never, ever give up.

 My website is www.loriwilde.com.  I blog monthly at http://deadlinehellions. Blogspot.com/

Thanks for taking the time for this interview and we will look for your new releases.  Now is the time for my readers to let me know who they’d like me to interview.  I have several in the pipeline and I am trying to present one a week, so let me know who you’d like to learn more about.

Until next time,

Virginia

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2009 in Author Interviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Getting to Know – Lori Wilde

  1. writegirldsm

    August 19, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Good interview. I find it interesting that Lori writes pretty much the same way I do – at least when it comes to a deadline. Even though my deadlines are all self-imposed. ;)

     
  2. virginiagruver

    August 18, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks Deanne and Sally. Love your comments. Now if you could just help me get my own book finished.

     
  3. Deanne

    August 18, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I really enjoyed this interview with Lori Wilde. I’m looking forward to reading Sweethearts Knitting Club. Thanks

     
  4. sally

    August 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Enjoyed the interview with Lori Wilde, even though I’m not a Romance fan. She obviously is doing very well if her 43rd book is being published. That’s quite an enviable record.

    And WOW! love your landscape photo! What part of the country? And who is the marvelous photographer.

    Thanks for starting this blog. Look forward to more interviews.

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

