RSS

A Little Summer Reading

13 Jul

“Books are a uniquely portable magic.”
― Stephen KingOn Writing

I read regularly but it seems like it takes me longer to finish a book then it used to. I used to get through a couple books a week now it seems like I struggle to get through one a week. Here are some that I’ve read the past few months.

I recently discovered a series that I really enjoyed. I did get through them fairly quickly. They are co-written by Rosalind Burgess and Patricia Obermeier Neuman. They write the Val and Kit Mystery series. I had to read them because Val is a REALTOR and I have always wanted a REALTOR protagonist. Originally, I wanted to see how they did it and then I got sucked into the stories. The first is ‘The Disappearance of Mavis Woodstock’ and the cover has an attractive front door. I bought them on my kindle and it was like eating peanuts, couldn’t stop with on.. They are cozies so nothing too graphic but the characters are well developed and the story lines believable. The second in the series is ‘The Murder of Susan Reed’ and the third is ‘Death in Door County‘. If you are looking to be entertained, check them out. I know I am waiting for the next one.

I also read a Kathy Hogan Trocheck – ‘Every Crooked Nanny‘. What pulled me into this series is that I love Mary Kay Andrews and this is an older series she had before her MKA books. Female protagonist who owns a cleaning business gets pulled into a case when a nanny gets murdered.  Again a great cozy and do plan to read more.

I also discovered Glen Ebisch and his first book – ‘The Crying GIrl’. This cozy series has a touch of paranormal. It almost felt like a cozy horror. This one introduces the series characters who end up in a small town to find out the truth about an old teacher who dies falling down the stairs of a reputed haunted house. For some reason the protagonist questioned how that could have happened to her. That seemed a little flimsy because I suppose anyone could fall down the stairs and die but it wasn’t enough to make me not want to finish the book. I did buy the next two in the series and plan to read them too. Good fun and again, if you like cozies you should check them out. Some of these were for free when I picked them up. I love getting a free book and discovering an author like.

I also bought the first three Allison Kingsley Raven’s Nest Bookstore Mystery. I finished ‘Mind Over Murder‘ – the first. Clara Quinn has the Quinn sense. She tried to escape it by leaving Finn’s Harbor but when she is forced to return, she works part time at her cousin’s bookstore. One of the residents doesn’t like that the bookstore has books on the Occult and is very vocal about it. Later she is found dead and an employee of the store is accused of the murder. The two cousins work together to catch the killer. A good series with likable characters and I definitely plan to read more.

I also finished a book by a local author who belongs to my Sisters in Crime – Iowa group. Her name is Jody Vorbrich and she wrote ‘Murder in Central Standard Time.’ The body is found at the Neal Smith Wildlife Refuge that isn’t too far from where I live. The protagonist volunteers there and stumbles upon the body. This is a well written story that kept me coming back and I am hoping this is the first of many. What makes it even more interesting is that our chapter President of Sisters in Crime Iowa this year is the Director of the Neal Smith Wildlife Refuge. She is writing a series of books with a character who works at a refuge also. 

I am currently reading Neil Gaiman‘s – ‘The Ocean At The End of The Lane’ – I am half way through it and so far it has been a great treat too. It is a literary novel with a touch of paranormal.

What are you reading? Do you still read real books or an e-reader? I bounce back and forth. There are some books I need to own.

Keep reading and writing,

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “A Little Summer Reading

  1. virginiagruver

    July 13, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    Thanks Margot. I usually alternate between fiction and writing reference books but I kind of got stuck on fiction. Hope you are having a good summer. Try to escape for a while in a book.

     
  2. Margot Kinberg

    July 13, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    Virginia – You’ve been enjoying some interesting reading. I have to say, I especially like the title Every Crooked Nanny – it’s appealing and attention-getting. And I can see how a series featuring a realtor might be interesting.

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

