RSS

What Are You Reading?

21 Jul

“I learned that we can do anything, but we can’t do everything — at least not at the same time” – Dan Millman

I am one of those people who has a very difficult time juggling work and pleasure. I put my writing in the pleasure category because for now it is still more hobby than career. I tend to put more energy into my day job and that is where the trying to balance comes in. Sometimes I can come home and start writing. Sometimes I come home and feel like my brain is fried and can’t. I tend to give more energy to my day job but I continue to write as often and as much as I can, even if not every day.When I don’t have the energy to write, I do read. It is ¬†one of my favorite past times. It is more than entertaining. ¬†Reading relaxes me, it inspires me, and it teaches me how to be a better writer. I continue to plug along with my novel slowly but forward progress at any speed is better than standing still.

 

I finished – Grave Justice by Glen Albert Ebisch. It is the second in a series and I enjoyed it as much as The Crying Girl, the first. If you like your cozy mysteries with a touch a paranormal check him out.

I am now reading – Kitty Kittty Bang Bang, a cozy mystery written by my writer friends Sparkle Abbey. I have posted about them before. They are Marylee Woods and Anita Carter. They collaborate on this series set in Laguna Beach. Marylee writes the odd number books while Anita writes the even. They each have their own protagonist, share the setting and secondary characters. It is all about the pets in Laguna Beach. The pets do not solve the crimes though. Their fourth book – Yip, Tuck, just came out recently. They have a great series. I love the titles, Desperate Housedogs, Get Fluffy, Kitty Kitty Bang Bank, Yip Tuck.They are currently working on the next two.

Another writer friend has a new book coming out this week. The Widows of Braxton County by Jess McConkey. This is her second book under the Jess McConkey name. The first was – Love Lies Bleeding. This author also has a cozy mystery series about witches as Shirley Damsgaard.

Writing is something I can’t stay away from too long or I get grumpy. If you write you know what I mean. Reading helps me heal and deal with the stress so hopefully this post will give you a few more ideas when you need to escape into a story.

Until next time,

Virginia

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2013 in What I'm Reading

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading?

  1. virginiagruver

    July 30, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Thanks Cole.

     
  2. Nicole M Reising

    July 30, 2013 at 7:31 am

    Hey Virginia! I had to smile about the if you don’t write you find yourself ‘getting grumpy’. I just told a friend that’s how it is for me. :-)

     
  3. Christy

    July 22, 2013 at 9:15 am

    I completely understand balancing your time and energy between a day job and your passion for writing. We can’t stay away from it too long or we go crazy. And at any one time I am reading at least 2 books to try to stay current with that stack of books that I want to read that is growing taller every day. Good luck on your balancing act!

     
    • virginiagruver

      July 22, 2013 at 6:28 pm

      Thanks Christy

       
  4. virginiagruver

    July 21, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    I don’t think I’ve read an Australian author. I might have to check this out. Thanks Margot

     
  5. Margot Kinberg

    July 21, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Virginia – You’ve got a nice variety of novels there! As for me, I’ve been finding myself reading more Australian crime fiction lately. Just finished Geoffrey McGeachin’s Blackwattle Creek and I thought it was terrific.

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

