RSS

Where Do Your Ideas Come From?

27 Jul

I decided to start something new this week. I posted about something that happened several years ago on fb and it seemed to get a lot of attention. Several years ago when I my kids were younger we were at the state fair. We wandered into this house up on the hill next to the antique barn. It was full of old photos. I saw one photo that caught my eye. By the clothes, I am guessing it was from the 1920′s. It was a crowd standing in the grand concourse and in the middle of the crowd was a woman who looked just like me. I got goosebumps. I tried to get a copy of the photo but they refused. I thought at the time there might be a story there but it was before I took myself seriously as a writer. So it has been simmering in the back of my brain for quite a while now. For whatever reason it came forward this week and a story started unfolding.

I have wanted to write stories before but this is the first time I have ever felt like I have to tell this story. My friend Tamara Siler Jones who has three books out knew exactly what I was talking about and she got almost as excited about it as I am.  It is all fiction but it feels like something only I can tell. So I have set some goals. I want to get it developed as fast as I can and pump out a first draft in say 60 days.

This story started with that little seed. I gave it time to germinate into something more and now I think it is ready to tell.

Where do your ideas come from? Do you start with the plot or a character?

Today I met both Tammy Jones and Shirley Damsgaard at a book signing at Beaverdale Books. Shirley has a new Jess McConkey book – The Widows of Braxton County that came out this week. Afterwards we had a late lunch and time to talk about our writing projects. Shirley left a few signed copies at the bookstore so if you want an autographed copy, stop by.

Hope your writing is moving forward.

Virginia

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2013 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Where Do Your Ideas Come From?

  1. virginiagruver

    July 30, 2013 at 10:47 pm

    Thanks Cole, Hope your writing is going forward. Kerry and I are meeting Saturday to write. We invited the rest of the chapter. Can’t wait to get going.

     
  2. Nicole M Reising

    July 30, 2013 at 7:38 am

    I LOVE the idea Virginia!!! It does get the imagination going. :-)

     
  3. virginiagruver

    July 28, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Margot since I have always lived here, I am guessing she is a relative somehow. The story is going to be about family secrets and that photo is what started me thinking about it. Going to push to complete this one asap.

     
  4. Margot Kinberg

    July 28, 2013 at 7:59 am

    Virginia – What a fascinating story! Now I’m really wondering who that woman could have been and whether, in any way at all, you might be related to her. Really an interesting story and I’m so glad it’s inspired you.

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

