RSS

What can I say?

22 Oct

Have to apologize. This summer got away from me. I have been dealing with some health issues and have let my blog and my writing slide. I haven’t totally quit writing. I have been trying to develop a new story. I got no where with it.

I am feeling better and now I am getting that old desire to sit in front of my computer for hours and make up things. My idea I have been struggling with doesn’t seem to want to come together but I do have one of my stories that I abandoned that seems to be calling me. It has some characters that I love and when I shared them with my critique group in the past, they seemed to like them too.

Take the Sweet Home Alabama premise, toss in a couple little old ladies from Keokuk Iowa who like to play the slots, a female impersonator named Merci and set it in Vegas. That is what I will be working on for the next few months. I managed to outline the story from beginning to end and have started writing. I have only a couple scenes that I will use from when I worked on it before. One where the heroine meets Agnes and Frieda on the plane to Vegas. Their seats get mixed up and the two old women are sitting on either side of the heroine. She offers to switch seats but one of them says that they couldn’t do that. If the plane crashed they wouldn’t be able to identify them. Freida is shorter and has a matronly figure. Agnes is thin and was once a looker. Agnes has outlived three husbands so far. Each one left her a little better off financially.

I had a chance to pitch this story to a couple agents a few years ago and got some positive feedback.

Plan to blog at least once a week. I won’t be doing Nano this year but I am part of a closed online group with an author friend so will be participating in our own November Writing Camp. I have already decided what my goal is. We just post our progress and chat. It’s fun and less stress.

If you are planning to do Nano, I wish you luck and happy writing.

Until next time.

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2013 in Novel Writing, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “What can I say?

  1. virginiagruver

    October 23, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks Margot. I also got a position in another department and so I no longer have to work on Sunday. It is so nice having 2 days off in a row. Feels like vacation and is allowing me more time to write.

     
  2. Margot Kinberg

    October 23, 2013 at 6:46 am

    Virginia – I’m sorry to hear that you had some health issues this summer. And I know what you mean about not making as much progress on your writing as you’d like. But it’s delightful to see you back here, and I hope you stay healthy. And it’s also wonderful that you’ve got some new ideas for your writing. I look forward to hearing more about them.

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

