RSS

Writing a Novel 9/6/2009

06 Sep

I am going to try to change the way I am posting about writing.  I realize that I haven’t been posting as often as I should be. I am going to try to post more often hoping that it will encourage readers to participate in this process of writing a book with me.  I want to help you but I need you to help me too. I am open to all suggestions. When I get busy and am unable to write, it affects my mood.  I get grumpy until I actually take time to sit down and put something on paper.  I am disappointed with myself that I haven’t gotten further than I have by now but I also know it’s no good to worry about what’s past.  I have to make changes for today and the future. When I get stuck, I turn to books on writing. Hoping to get motivated.  It does work.  I am in the process of making a personal life change that I’m hoping will help me to be able to focus more on the writing.  I have so many things that are taking my attention that I am finding it difficult to stay focused on the things that are important to me and writing is one of those things.

In case you haven’t noticed, I read a lot and I have discovered some great stuff out there about writing.  Since I have just started this current manuscript recently and haven’t gotten that far into it, I pulled out an older book I’ve had for a while and had never read completely.  The title is Hookedby Les Edgerton. 

I have been writing and re-writing the beginning because I am not sure where the story actually begins.  So I have been writing some scenes that I like but I’m not sure exactly where they will fit into the story.

I believe that it’s not just the first chapter that has to hook, but each chapter and each scene.  I have practiced with starting out with dialogue, description, and action.  I think it needs to have a little bit of all three to really reel the reader in but I haven’t been able to find anything definitive about writing beginnings.  Since I’m struggling with this part of the process, let me know how you decide to begin.  How do you write your hook?  Do you start with dialogue, description, action, or do you do something else?  I have been reading the beginnings of novels that I love.  What are your secrets?

A few other books, I’m perusing are: Thanks, But This Isn’t For Usby Jessica Page Morrell.  She has several books about writing that I intend to check out along the way.  She is a developmental editor and teaches writers in workshops in the Northwest. 

I’ve read ‘The Writer’ and ‘Writer’s Digest’ for years.  While at my local bookstore this week, I discovered a couple new magazines on writing.  You might want to check them out also.  ‘Writers’ Forum’ and ‘Script’.  Lots of information. 

I plan to post something again tomorrow.  And I do have another author interview to share with you this week. 

Do check in and share your experience with me.

Until next time,

Virginia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

What do you think?

 
