RSS

Where is the Summer Going?

02 Aug

Yeah, I know. I’ve been neglecting my blog again. It hasn’t been a deliberate decision. It’s like exercising. Once you’ve missed a day, it’s hard to get back into the routine. Writing isn’t physically difficult; unless I counted the time I broke my elbow.

Sometimes the problem isn’t the writing, it’s the getting your butt into the seat to do it.

That hasn’t been my problem. I have been putting plenty of seat time in working on my novel. My current work in progress is a mystery with a little paranormal storyline. As my friend Sara put it, I have been riding the wave with my enthusiasm. I think about the story off and on during the day and I get up early to write before work. I hurry with supper and dishes just so that I can escape to my office to write. I am experiencing the honeymoon stage of my first draft. I can only hope it will continue to be a good marriage until I reach the end.

I don’t like to share too much of my story at this stage.  If I tell people about it, it takes the steam out of writing it. Why should I get excited about a story I’ve already told?  For now I will share my working title – ‘Foul Whisperings’. It’s from a line in Shakespeare’s Macbeth. My story involves witches and rumors and that is all I will share for now.

At this point I’ve written a few chapters and the story is still fairly fluid. As I write, I’m nailing down more of the specifics as well as developing the characters and storyline to give it a few more layers. I am pushing myself to get the first draft written while I am still in this glorious honeymoon stage. I would love to hear from other writers about how they complete that first draft.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you have probably already figured out that when I am not writing, I am reading.  Just to catch up, I recently finished ‘Witches of East End’.  I have been focusing on stories about witches just to see how others have used the subject. So far I haven’t read anything similar to my story idea – and for that I am thankful. I enjoyed the book but have to admit it wasn’t exactly what I had expected. It was good and would recommend it to others with similar interests. I liked the premise but felt the end lacked something and I can’t really put my finger on what didn’t work for me. I know that it is the first in a series, so will probably read the next to see where it is going.

I also finished ‘Haunting Jasmine’. It’s the story of a woman whose aunt asks her to come take care of her book store while she takes a trip back home to India. It sounds simple, until she realizes that the bookstore is haunted by the ghosts of dead authors. It is a story of relationships between both the living and the dead. The characters are well developed and the author has a soothing writing style that did keep pulling me into it. This was one that kept me up late the last night to finish.

Currently I’m reading ‘The Help.’ Want to see the movie but I also want to read the book first. Hope to get into a routine with my blog, at least once a week. Would love to see what you are reading.

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2011 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Where is the Summer Going?

  1. virginiagruver

    August 3, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Good to hear you are writing too. I hope to develop a series with this book. It will be mysteries with a bit of paranormal, kind of like the x-files. We’ll see what happens with this one. Is Stir of Echoes from the movie with Kevin Bacon?

    Like

     
  2. K

    August 3, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    It is great that you are writing on your blog again. I know that enthusiasm stage and wish it stayed longer. I am in the rewriting stage which turns out to be neverending. Just finished the book “Still Missing” by Chevy Stevens – it was very good. I bought my sister a copy and one to loan out to people at work which is something I only do if I really like the book. Before reading that I read “Stir of Echoes” because I’m trying to write a ghost story too (mine doesn’t have witches though) and needed inspiration. It was good – better than the movie. 🙂

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
