RSS

Whatever it Takes to Reach a Goal

10 Aug

My critique group decided a few weeks ago to set goals between meetings. We thought that would help us push through to the end of our project a little better. We didn’t just set a goal, we also decided that if that goal wasn’t met, we would have to put $10.00 into kind of a swear jar. I think you can see where this is going. If we didn’t make the goal, we would swear and then owe the money.  Well even if we don’t swear, we owe the money.

The first time around, I was the only one who met my goal.  My writing went well those two weeks, remember my honeymoon period? I worked every day pushing myself through writing two chapters. At that time, we were meeting on Sunday. I worked until 11:00 PM and finished my writing but then I still needed to critique two chapters for one critique partner. I stayed up till 1:00 AM and I did get it done. Don’t feel sorry for me, I tend to be a night owl and actually like staying up till that time. At least that night I had something constructive to do.

I felt great the next day when we met until I found out neither of my partners had met their goal so had to divvy up.  I don’t know what happened for sure to get me off track this past week because after meeting yesterday, I too had to contribute. The money will be for a good thing, down the road. We plan to use it next year to help pay for a writer’s retreat.

Because our group was short a third person, we decided to forgo our goals until out next meeting when we can all be there together.  I have set my own goal of a chapter a week, even though it is just for me.  I will have a much better chance to accomplish it because I will be taking vacation next week and have scheduled a little mini-retreat with one of my critique partners at a Bed and Breakfast for a couple of days. Two days of writing without any distractions.

I did finish reading ‘The Help’, and I think it will be another Classic.  If you enjoyed To Kill a Mockingbird, I do believe you would enjoy this book. I am planning to go see the movie this weekend, another goal for this week.

Happy writing,

Virginia

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2011 in Novel Writing

 

4 responses to “Whatever it Takes to Reach a Goal

  1. K

    August 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    It is good to hear you are writing and meeting your goals. I need to set some as well but then I get discouraged if I don’t meet them – I don’t need anymore discouragement in life. Ha, Ha.

    The bed and breakfast sounds relaxing – I hope you get a lot of writing done. As always I am happy when I see you’ve written a new post ~ sometimes they seem few and far between. 🙂

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      August 10, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      Kathy, I know I’m not posting as often as I would like to either. Just seems like can’t make the time. I am trying to spend most of my writing time on the book. Good to hear from you too. Don’t give up. It can’t happen if you quit.

      Like

       
  2. Ransom

    August 10, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Virginia, that’s a great idea – a swear jar with money to put toward some kind of goal. Though I agree that it’d be better to accomplish your goals. Why do you need your other partners to hit their goals in order to pressure you to make yours? Good luck keeping up!

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      August 10, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Good to hear from you. I thought the swear jar was a good idea too. I really don’t need my partners to hit their goals but I want them to. I am trying to get a chapter a week written just to get through the first draft as soon as I can. I keep getting distracted and sometimes I come home and just don’t have enough of whatever to face the page. I know excuses. But I will do it. That is my mantra. How is your writing going?

      Like

       

What do you think?

 
