RSS

Weight Loss For Writers – and Everyone Else

12 Feb

Last weekend I made the decision to do something about my weight, again. I have tried weight Loss programs at least three times with real success only once. Right before Christmas, I decided to try one again. I signed up for the on-line version. I lost 3 pounds in two weeks. At the time, I thought anything in the right direction was good. Then came Christmas and New Years and I gained back a pound. Still I thought I could do this. After New Years I just couldn’t get myself into the mindset to make it work and I hated spending the money to use a program on-line knowing that I would have to depend on myself to keep motivated. I think they make it difficult to connect to people on-line so you have to go to the meetings. I started doubting my ability to keep myself motivated.  I know me, I would cheat. I really didn’t want to do the meeting thing either. Never got used to weighing myself in front of other people. Besides I don’t have the time especially since the only meeting place in my area closed and if I wanted to attend, I would have to drive across town to do it. Then the points, could never get the hang of counting them.

Then one day, I was playing around with my Nook. I found an app on there for weight loss. There was also a website and it was free. It’s called Loseit.com. It does everything I wanted the other on-line weight loss program site to do but didn’t.

Lose It has a daily food log with a search engine that pulls up any kind of food you could imagine, including restaurants. It also has a place to add your exercise. There are also forums where other members can discuss and share information about their journey toward weight loss. You can also friend those people who will then be there to help motivate you with little messages of encouragement. They also send you badges when you reach certain goals.  And maybe the best part is there are no points. It’s based solely on calories.

It takes about five minutes to sign up and you decide how many pounds you would like to lose a week. You choose from half a pound up to two and it will automatically adjust your calorie level.   I use the app during the day listing what I eat and it tells me what I have left for the rest of the day.  I eat pretty much what I want but I have caught myself making better choices because I want to be able to have dinner at night.

There is one safety valve just in case you go over a little. You just move. There is a huge list of activities you can choose from, including house cleaning and vacuuming, and the one I really like is the Wii fit program. Go burn up a few calories. That adds to the calories you can eat, either giving you more or allowing you to stay under your goal.

Okay, so after my first week, you are probably wondering how I did. This past week included my birthday. We always go out to eat as a family on birthdays so I couldn’t get out of it. I ate my favorite, prime rib. I chose a smaller portion and made better choices with the rest of my meal. I did go over my calorie allotment that day but I didn’t let it sidetrack me. The next day was a new day and I started over.  By the end of the week, I had lost three pounds. My goal was 1 1/2 pounds. I moved everyday, even if it was just a short walk at lunch.

I think this is a great program. If you have been wanting to lose some weight and get fit, I can say that I highly recommend it. If you decide to join, friend me. I truly am a great motivator and will work to keep you on track.

I’ll check in here each week to let you know how it’s going and share some of my secrets along the way.

Until next time,

Virginia

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in Weight Loss

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Weight Loss For Writers – and Everyone Else

  1. tambo

    February 14, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    I’m taking a couple of days off from food-counting because of life stresses. Whee.

    However, I picked up a book the other day at the bookstore – The Writing Diet by Julia Cameron (she wrote The Artist’s Way). Hoping it’ll help too.

    {{huggs}

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      February 14, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      That’s alright Tammy. It is one of those things that you have to be ready and committed to do it. Give it all the time you need. I’ll be there to support you when the time is right.

      Like

       
  2. virginiagruver

    February 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    Thanks Kathy. I dropped another pound since this post so 4 pounds in 1 week. I have been walking for 10 minutes at lunch. Know that isn’t much but it is all the time I can give and still have time to eat. I can’t eat at my desk. I have also been using my WII fit again. So far I have not felt deprived. Good luck with your weight loss journey too.

    Like

     
  3. Kathy

    February 13, 2012 at 2:05 am

    Great post! I downloaded the app to my Nook too! I haven’t set it up yet but will tonight! 🙂

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
