RSS

Two Weeks Down

22 Feb

I continue to follow the Loseit plan and am finding success. So far I have lost 5 lbs. Not bad since I set it up to lose 1.5 lbs a week. I feel like I have a little more energy and do not feel as if I have been deprived.

No food is totally off-limits but I do look at portions. I hate getting to the end of the day and feel I have cut myself short for dinner. Even if I overdo one day, I don’t dwell on it, I stay positive, tomorrow is a new day and I get all the daily calories again.   Watching calories does make you more aware of healthier choices. Fruits and vegetables are lower in calories and help fill me up more than some of the junk I used to eat all the time.

I try not to overdo two days in a row but if I do, I have a safety net, exercise. I pop in the Wii fit DVD and workout. That usually gives me the added calories to make up for overeating.  At first I was really pushing to do something physical every day and that did help kick-start the weight loss but I started feeling like maybe my 15 minutes to relax at lunch could be better spent relaxing and reading instead of rushing to walk the skywalks of downtown. I normally have to walk several blocks every day between the parking ramp and the office anyway. So to balance it out a little, I have decided to use my Wii fit every other day at home, except on Saturdays when I do my housework. I feel like I get a pretty good workout doing that, with lugging the vacuum up and down two sets of stairs along with everything else that needs to be done.  I look at cleaning in a different light now. It’s not a chore, it’s a workout and when I’m done, I get immediate gratification by having a clean house.  As soon as spring really arrives, I plan to add walks around a lake near home. For now though, I have decided to back off a little during the day at work and actually take a break.

The most frustrating part of last week was the pound I kept floating. One day I was down a pound and the next day I was up. I did that most of the week. I tried not to get too excited about it.  I just kept doing the plan and eventually this Monday, I broke through and dropped 2 pounds.

So far, this feels like something I can do for the long-term to meet my weight loss goal. If you haven’t checked it out yet, it’s an app for your smart phone. I use it on my Nook. The website is http://www.loseit.com. It’s free and that makes it even better.

If any of you have decided to do it, be sure to friend me on the site. I will do my best to help motivate and encourage.

I plan to post a writing blog this weekend.

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Weight Loss

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Two Weeks Down

  1. virginiagruver

    February 23, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks Christy. I started on Feb 5th so however long that is. I am happy with the program. I plan to blog once a week about progress and suggestions. I have to get back to blogging about writing once a week at least too. I wish you the best of luck and lots of success.

    Like

     
  2. Christy

    February 23, 2012 at 3:06 am

    Keep going! I’m on the same exact path that you are on and have lost about 5 pounds – but it took me 3 weeks. I also float a pound here and there –

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
