RSS

Do You Write Alone or With Others?

03 Mar

Last November, I proposed meeting once a month with another writer friend to write, critique, brainstorm, and generally keep both of us moving forward. My friend is Kerry F. and we decided to wait until after the holidays. Since we both are members of a local RWA chapter that meets the 3rd Saturday of the month, we decided to meet on the first Saturday of each month. We were both excited and then we had to deal with bad weather both January and February. We live a distance away from each other so meet half-way in West Des Moines.  Today we finally got to get together.

We’d had a chance to share our work by email so are now familiar with what we are writing. Today we had a chance to sit how it was going to fit. I think we are a great fit. We met to work out details of our stories that were hanging us up and I had the opportunity to iron out some issues I was having with my Act I.

We discussed what we are looking for and we seem to be on the same page. We both want someone to obviously help critique our work but also brainstorm with when we get stuck or something doesn’t seem to be working. We want someone to motivate us to keep going and someone we feel is sincerely interested in helping us get further into this business of writing.

We plan to open our monthly meeting up to other members of our IRN group who need the support we feel we can give. When it was time to split up and drive home, I felt good about the time we spent today. I left with a better vision of how my story needs to be told and couldn’t wait to get home and start writing.  We are both writing about similar topics, witches, ghosts, and a bit of the paranormal but in totally different situations. She is working on a historical series based around a manor house from the past and each generation of family living there into the future. I am working on a story about witches also, or at least a group of women accused of witchcraft and how those accusations affect a community in a contemporary setting.

Kerry is a talented writer and I feel honored to get to work with her. Will keep you posted as we travel along this adventure in writing.
Do  you write alone, are do you write with a buddy?

What have I been reading?  Finished Lisa Jackson‘s ‘Shiver‘. An interesting thriller set in New Orleans before the flood. It is centered around a tragedy that happened at an asylum and the aftermath that followed. The heroine’s mother fell out of a bedroom window and died in front of her family. Originally it was thought to be connected to her state of mind and she probably committed suicide but as the years passed, it didn’t add up and eventually a series of murders all came back to that tragic incident. Kept me guessing right up until the reveal. Will hopefully look for more from this series if I ever get through my mountain of to be read books.

Also finished reading Stephan King’s “Colorado Kid‘, a novella that the television series ‘Haven’, is based on. It was an interesting read but not what I expected from King. I enjoyed the story but think it could have been extended into something longer and obviously someone else thought so, with the aforementioned series. I watch ‘Haven’, ‘Supernatural‘, and pretty much anything with a paranormal theme to help me develop my current work. I would like my current story to be a series so like seeing how others approach similar subjects thinking I will see something similar to what I am trying to do. So far, not so much. That’s good though. I feel like maybe I can write about similar subjects with a fresh approach. Since I can’t seem to find what I want to read, it gives me more initiative to write it for myself.

Until next time,

Virginia

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

What do you think?

 
