RSS

E is for E-Reader

06 Jun

“It seems to me that anyone whose library consists of a Kindle lying on a table is some sort of bloodless nerd.”
― Penelope Lively

“Lovers of print are simply confusing the plate for the food.”

― Douglas Adams

When I first heard about e-books, I thought it would be a phase. People really wouldn’t prefer to read on one of them instead of a real book, would they? I have to admit, I am a bibliophile. I love books and will always prefer reading them but I also don’t like clutter. I have started buying fewer books only because I don’t want to have to deal with where to keep them. Besides clutter, the disorganization can cause me to buy a book more than once because I couldn’t find the original.

I did finally cave in a couple of years ago and bought a Nook and have recently purchased an IPAD. It hasn’t kept me from buying traditional books but I probably buy fewer of them.  I now check out authors with my e-reader, especially when they offer a free read. I used to do the same thing with Half Price Books. I would read new authors and if I really liked them, I would then go out and buy everything else that they had written.

De-Cluttering and saving trees is probably my best reason for turning to e-reading. With an e-book, I eliminate the clutter and I can always find my books. They are all in my e-reader library. No wasting time and money hunting and searching through all the book shelves in my home.

I discovered two more reasons recently. Oprah’s new book club 2.0. She doesn’t tell you how to buy the book, you can still buy a traditional book but if you do buy it in e-form, it has the passages she liked highlighted that you can read as you go along. I did buy this one because it sounded interesting. The title is ‘Wild’ by Cheryl Strayed. It’s about a woman who hikes 1100 miles along a Pacific coast trail by herself. She loses herself and re-discovers herself along the way.

Besides Oprah, there is – Fifty Shades of Grey. Not that I indulge in reading erotica, but if I did, I could read it on an e-reader and no one would know. This one, I haven’t bought yet.

How many of you have an e-reader? Is it the reading experience you expected? Do you like it or are you a die-hard traditional book lover?

Hope your writing is going well and you are finding a little time to read.

Virginia

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “E is for E-Reader

  1. K

    June 8, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    I ridiculed a coworker when she purchased a Kindle – who would ever want to read a book on an ereader? It sounded silly. In browsing B&N, I found that I could get a free ereader program for my laptop and then borrow books from the library or friends. Well, I was skeptical but hey, who is going to turn down a free app? I’m afraid I was hooked with the first book I read. I purchased a Nook because the books were from B&N – I’m not a big Amazon admirer. That was over a year ago and I now have over 400 books on my ereader with another 400+ on my laptop. I don’t put them all on the ereader as I don’t want to bog it down.

    Now the only reasons I usually buy a hardbound is if I read it on my ereader and just had to have it for my bookshelf or I want to share it with friends/coworkers who refuse to get ereaders. I like this new arrangement because I only spend a ton of money on a book if I already know it is a favorite. Another thing that sold me was I bought two books by Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child in hardbound because they were part of the series I was reading. Well, I didn’t like either of them so there went $50 down the drain. Now I can spend much less on books plus B&N usually lets you read a sample before you buy. How can a person go wrong?

    My next purchase will be a tablet but I don’t expect to have to go that route until next year sometime. My Nook goes EVERYWHERE with me and has free wi-fi so I can hook into a network at my favorite hangouts. 🙂 I love mine – I can’t see every being without an ereader ever again!!!

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      June 8, 2012 at 11:41 pm

      Good to see you enjoy your reader. Hope you are having a good summer so far.

      Like

       
  2. Blankistaken

    June 6, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    I just bought my e-reader and I absolutely love it! However, I still love books and everything about them. My e-reader just make things more convenient.

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      June 8, 2012 at 11:41 pm

      Thanks for the comment. Reading is good, no matter how you do it.

      Like

       

What do you think?

 
