RSS

Tuesday Tip

24 Jul

It is easy to take a few days off and then find it difficult to get back into your story. What works for me is my book bible. It’s a binder where I keep everything about the story. You can set it up anyway that works for you. I have a section for Characters, with sketches that include their goal, motivation, and conflict. I also have a section for Setting, Plot ideas that include a scene list or outline, research, and the current draft. If I get pulled out of the story, this is my lifeline.

I also keep a book journal where I write about my story and where it is going. I write down information pertinent to the next day’s writing. It is all about the story but it is a place for me to work out details and ideas. I don’t use everything I write down, but it is there if I need it.

I keep a notebook handy for ideas on me all the time but it is not the book journal. My book journal is kept at home.

What are some of the ways that you keep yourself involved in your story?

Hope you have a week of no distractions.

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Write a Novel

 

2 responses to “Tuesday Tip

  1. K

    July 24, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    I use Scrivener which is a electronic notebook for all the writing stuff. I still think about making art boards to keep at my desk for a visual of whatever story I’m working on – haven’t gotten to it yet but I think it would keep me inspired. I also carry a little book around me for ideas and to record snatches of conversations that I overhear to use later. 🙂

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      July 24, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      I have Scrivener but haven’t taken the time to figure out how to use it. My friend Sara swears by it. Guess I better check it out. Hope your writing is going well. Good to see your posts.

      Like

       

What do you think?

 
