RSS

M is for Motivation

30 Jul

“If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” – Toni Morrison

Motivation is what makes you want to do something. If you write, it’s a longing that can only be expressed in words.  If I ignore it, I tend to get grumpy.   I know when I’ve been away from words too long. They call to me. It’s like they build up inside and eventually I have to spill some out.

Reading feeds my motivation. Sometimes because the words are so right, but sometimes even if they aren’t it can motivate me to do better.

Sometimes when I am working on a new project just planning the story and developing characters can pull me into the project motivating me to complete it. The story can lure me into spending more time with it. Those are the nights when I come home from work and wish all I had to do was grab a peanut butter sandwich and sit down in front of the computer and spend the evening with my fictional world.

A goal can help feed your motivation. It’s an end, something to aim for, a reason to continue. But don’t ignore the journey. Getting into the zone can motivate too. It’s intoxicating to reach that point where you are focused only on your work and time goes by without your noticing it.

What motivates you to write? What keeps you going?

May you write what you’ve been wanting to read, this week.

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Write a Novel

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “M is for Motivation

  1. virginiagruver

    July 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    Thanks for commenting. I know, I am easily distracted. It is so hard to stay focused. I have heard of that Honey Creek Resort. Thought about doing the same thing last summer. That was when I went for a couple days to a Bed and Breakfast with Tammy Jones in Newton. Tammy is one of my critique partners who is published. She writes a fantasy series under Tamera Siler Jones. Her books feel like Medieval Mysteries to me. Very graphic and some violence but she is a talented writer.

    Like

     
  2. Kathy

    July 31, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    Great words of wisdom! I am not doing so hot with my writing lately. I’ve outlined several story ideas but haven’t actually written much on any of them. My 50th birthday is coming in March so I’m thinking I will go spend a few nights down at Rathburn Lake here in Iowa. There is a resort there, Honey Creek Resort that I am considering for a private little writing retreat. Until then, I am trying to set up my apartment to be more writer friendly…not sure what the problem is but it certainly doesn’t inspire me at the moment. 🙂

    I would love to go to a conference but it won’t happen this year – maybe next. 🙂

    Good to see you writing more on your blog!!

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
