RSS

What’s Happening Wednesday

05 Sep

I had a long weekend kind of. I had to work Sunday but had Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday off. Spent some time writing and reading. Started using Scrivener but I am not totally sold on it. I was for a while but then I tried to move a scene and lost it and that scared me. My words come so slowly, I hate to lose any of them if I don’t have to.

I am pushing forward. Writing every day and trying to get 1000 words in each time I sit down for a session. I like the direction my story is going and know that all I have to do is pump out this first draft. I have always been able to write short pieces and trying to wrap my mind around a novel has freaked me out. I admit it. But now that I tell myself, all I have to write is this short 1000 words today. That is all I have to worry about, the words are flowing finally.

My Sister’s in Crime- Iowa Chapter is having a 25 year anniversary party for Sisters in Crime this Saturday at the Urbandale Library from 2:00-4:00. If you love mysteries, you will enjoy this. We have baskets of books to give away, a few Sisters in Crime authors, treats. It should be a good time. It is open to anyone who wants to attend.

Have been reading ‘The Beautiful Mystery’ by Louise Penny. I am half way through and have been enjoying it but it hit me, today that none of the characters in Three Pines is in this book so far. I miss them. They are what always pull me back to want to read more. This is the third book in this series that has been set in a different location. I follow Ms. Penny’s blog and know she is working on her next novel. I only hope she will be taking us back to Three Pines with the next book.

Back to work tomorrow.

Virginia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2012 in Writing a Novel

 

What do you think?

 
