RSS

Q is for Queries

06 Sep

Okay, so far this is the letter that had me stumped. The only writing related topic I could think of was queries. Something I knew little about until I read an article in the current edition of ‘Writer’s Digest‘. – Write the Perfect Query Letter. Your query is your chance to present yourself to an agent. Like your manuscript it needs to shine. It is one of your first marketing tools. The one that can get you an agent.

This piece shows where a literary agent shares a real query letter that worked. She breaks it down and shows not only the good but also the not so good.

It is page length with each paragraph introducing the character, describing goals, motivation, and conflicts in a way that would make the agent want to read the book.

As I said, I have never written a query yet but after reading this article it doesn’t seem so scary. When the time comes, I will do what I always do with a subject I’m unfamiliar with, I will read everything I can find to enlighten me. This article is a great start.

If you are like me and this is new territory, check out October’s Writer’s Digest. I’m sure you will find something to help guide you down the path of publication.

Virginia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Q is for Queries

What do you think?

 
