RSS

U is for Unstuck

24 Nov

First, I have to apologize for not posting. I’ve had a couple family members pass within a week of each other and  I have been battling bronchitis. It has been a month and I still don’t have my voice back yet. I am sure it doesn’t help that I work in a call center and have to talk all day. I am on my second round of antibiotics and hope this will take care of it.

I attended a workshop in September in Minneapolis by Debra Dixon. She is connected with Belle Bridge Books as an editor and is also an author. If you are a writer, you should have heard of her book ‘Goal, Motivation, and Conflict’. If you haven’t heard of it, you need to check it out. That happened to be the workshop for that weekend.

One of the golden nuggets of advice I picked up that weekend was what to do when I got stuck. I hope you find this as useful as I did.

How to get Unstuck – Using your POV character – ask these questions.

1. What is it I see before me?

2. What do I feel?

3. What do I hear?

4. What do I smell?

5. What do I taste?

6. What is the light like?

7. What is it that I want?

8. What do I think?

9. What happens next?

Hope you have a great week writing.

Virginia

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “U is for Unstuck

  1. virginiagruver

    November 24, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks Margot. I also have been taking an online mystery writing class that has really been good. It gave me something to do those few days I was stuck home.

    Like

     
  2. Margot Kinberg

    November 24, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Virginia – First, I am so very sorry to hear of your losses. That’s so sad and I wish you well getting back to life. Thanks also for this great advice for getting unstuck!

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
