RSS

W is for Write

08 Jan

 

“The idea is to write it so that people hear it and it slides through the brain and goes straight to the heart.” – Maya Angelou

Judy Reeves and Julia Cameron both promote daily writing pages. They suggest you write a certain number of pages a day, by hand.

 

With all of the tools we have for writing, I think we sometimes forget about pen and paper. It is convenient. You can always have a notebook on you. I carry one in my purse, in case inspiration strikes. Judy Reeves ‘A Writer’s Book of Days’ contains daily writing prompts. I like writing prompts. Sometimes writing something that someone else suggests takes the pressure of the blank page away. It doesn’t mean I will ever do anything with the prompt but I have it to use in the future. Maybe I will have a scene I am working on and I know I described something in a prompt that I really liked. I can dig for the gold. You can also use what you’ve written for ideas. Maybe something happened one day in the news and you write about it because it caught your attention. That piece might be your next story.

Most of the time when I am writing seriously though, I do have to be in front of the computer. If for nothing else but the ability to edit, the computer is a life saver.

Since I began writing in the ’90’s things have changed a lot. I started out with a typewriter. It had automatic correct and I thought that was the ultimate writing experience. I then moved on to a word processor. It looked like a desktop PC but all it had was a screen and once I edited my work, I printed it out. It printed out like a typewriter. I then moved on to my first PC. It was big but it fit perfect on the desk in the basement of our house at the time. It was clunky and whenever you got on the internet it beeped and whirred and took it’s time. Now I have a desktop with a thin flat monitor and a much smaller tower. I also have a laptop that needs work, a net-book that I should use more because it really is small and has all the programs I use already on it. I have an alpha smart Neo that is strictly a word processor and is just a little bigger than my net-book and runs on regular batteries. I have had it for several years and have yet to replace the batteries. You can save a whole book on it and with a cord download it to any word processing program on your PC. You can also send it wirelessly but I haven’t figured that out yet. I also have an IPad. I love it for the internet. Not so thrilled about the writing programs and even with a keypad it isn’t so comfortable for writing for longer writing sessions.

I guess it doesn’t matter what tool you use if you struggle with the act of writing. I recently picked up another kind of writing book. ‘The Only Grammar & Style Workbook You’ll Ever Need’ by Susan Thurman. Let’s just say that even though I did well in high school English, that’s been a long time ago. I use the book like some people do crosswords. It is packed full of tests. The chapters are:

  • Finding the Right Words
  • Many of the Most Commonly Misspelled Words
  • Parts of Speech
  • Basic Sentence Structure
  • Verb Varieties
  • Pronoun Problems
  • Punctuation and Style
  • Writing Better Sentences
  • Avoiding Common Errors
  • Eliminating Wordy Phrases

I figured that if I planned to continue down this path, it might not hurt to brush up on the basics. The tests remind me of worksheets from school. Don’t know why I think they are fun now and back then it was torture.

What do you write with? What are your writing rituals? What keeps you going?

Virginia

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “W is for Write

  1. Margot Kinberg

    January 8, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    Virginia,
    I have to admit to liking the computer for writing a lot more than I like paper and pen/cil. Mostly it’s because I have really illegible handwriting, so it’s just easier for me to draft, revise, edit and so on online. But I know there are a lot of people who don’t feel that way.
    &mbsp;
    I like that Maya Angelou quote an awful lot. I think the very best stories are the ones where the writer just reaches out directly to readers.

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      January 8, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      I have an author friend who writes first draft by hand then edits as he types it on computer.

      Thanks for following.

      Like

       

What do you think?

 
