RSS

X is for Xanadu

12 Jan

 

 

 

 

Yeah, I know. What does Xanadu have to do with writing? I am almost done with the alphabet series and I have to admit – X is a difficult one. There are no words starting with an x that could be a topic about the craft of writing so I stepped out of the box a little. So shoot me.

 

If you have written for any length of time, you know that after a while in your writing session you get into the zone. For a writer that is paradise. Now do you see where I am going?

 

Xanadu is not just an Olivia Newton John movie. There is a reference to a poem by Kubla Khan. What I got from everything that I read it is paradise. When a writer is in the zone, it is as close to paradise as you can get.

 

What about your writing makes you happy? What do you do to get to your Xanadu? Do you have a ritual? Do you light a candle as you start? Do you have to have your favorite beverage at your elbow?

 

If nothing else, describe your Xanadu, use it as a writing prompt for your story.

 

Next week on to Y. Why did I get myself into this?

 

Virginia

 

 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/niallkennedy/21778989/”>niallkennedy</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2013 in Writing a Novel

 

2 responses to “X is for Xanadu

  1. Margot Kinberg

    January 12, 2013 at 9:53 am

    Virginia – Oh, I don’t think that’s ‘stepping out of the box’ at all! There’s nothing quite like the feeling that one’s story is flowing and that everything is coming alive. And there’s no reason not to compare it to Xanadu. Why not? How do I get there? I will admit it’s easiest with my beloved black coffee easily to hand. Then I just think about my characters and sometimes I find myself there almost without thinking. Of course, it’s not always that easy and I’ve found that I have to have at least a little time free of distractions before I start writing. But once I’m there – I’m there.

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      January 14, 2013 at 8:54 am

      Thanks Margot, hope you find your Xanadu today!

      Like

       

What do you think?

 
