RSS

Tuesday Musings

15 Jan

 

 

thumbn_2945026921Tuesday is my day off. I normally meet with a friend every other Tuesday. Our schedule got messed up with the holidays so haven’t got together for a while. Today we couldn’t meet because she came down with the crud that is circulating. I am pretty sure I had it back before Christmas. I had the bronchitis thing that lasted for about six weeks. So we skipped again today.

I should be writing. I want to write but I have all these things I have to do today, errands, haircut, laundry, and I have to spend a little time doing housework since my next day off is Saturday and I already have meetings with two writers groups that start at 8:00 AM and don’t finish until 5:00 PM that day.

Sometimes I feel overwhelmed. I wish I was financially secure enough that I didn’t have to work and could write full time but don’t really see that ever happening. I will fit in some time to write later today. Maybe while the chili simmers for supper.

I am currently taking a ‘Finish your Mystery Class’. Trying to keep up with the assignments. Each assignment is one step closer to writing the book and I think that is what is making me a little¬†melancholy about the whole thing. I just want to get it done but I know that what I am doing will make the finished book better. I just need to trust that I can push through to the end.

My word count hasn’t moved because of the classes, I will start updating as soon as I get back into actually writing the book. I have learned a lot from each of the classes. The Mystery Writing class I took before Christmas helped me learn more about structuring a mystery. The Fast Draft Class taught me that there is no way I can write 20 pages a day, at least not yet. I did learn that even if I can’t write 20 pages a day that I can set a daily goal that will challenge me but not stop me and if I do it consistently, I will get this done. Just not in 2 weeks. I am learning more about writing the mystery in this current class and feel I will finish further along the path toward publication. I will complete this novel. It’s there, I just need to get it on the page.

How is your writing going? What do you do when you get stuck? How do you keep motivated? Do you write alone? Do you have people who keep you moving forward? When do you write?

If you are out there writing alone, I hope I can help motivate you.

Keep in touch,

Virginia

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/skipnclick/2945026921/”>skipnclick</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in Writing a Novel

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Tuesday Musings

  1. virginiagruver

    January 16, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    Margot, I do enjoy your posts. I am trying to post at least a couple times a week. I agree it helps to be kind to yourself because you can only do what you can do each day. Hope you have a satisfying year with your writing.

    Like

     
  2. Kathy

    January 15, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Hey Virginia, had to smile because I was thinking along these very lines earlier today. I have had six hours of sleep and now stuff has come up so I won’t get a nap before working all night again. I am exhausted. Despite lack of sleep and all that I have to do, I keep adding guilt as the cherry on top of the chaos sundae for not spending time writing. My word count stands at a big, fat 0 for the new story I am so excited about writing. I have outlined it, have set up the character profiles, done research on the location, but haven’t actually written a single word. It is so frustrating! My schedule hasn’t been the same since my sister’s house burned down on 12-12-12. Can’t seem to get it all together. Sigh. Hopefully soon! Who are you taking the classes through? Take care! Nice to see you posting!

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      January 16, 2013 at 9:05 pm

      Kathy I do enjoy your blog. Got busy over holidays so trying to get back into posting more often. I took the Mystery writing class through DMAAC online. It was 99.00 and I think 6 weeks. They run the class year round so you should be able to see more info. The second one was Candace Haven’s Fast Draft and Revision Hell class. 35.00 for it. I failed it miserably but I do have the info to use at my own pace. The class I am currently taking is Finish Your Mystery through the Kiss of Death Chapter of RWA online for 35.00 also. Being a member of RWA, they do have free classes each month that I take when they sound good also. Those are given by published authors. Hope your writing goes well this year.

      Like

       
  3. Pat

    January 15, 2013 at 3:50 pm

    Thank you very much for the mention.
    Your day sounds a little like mine: too much to do, too little time to do it and too few words written…
    ‘Tomorrow’ I tell myself and discover that tomorrow has become yesterday!

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      January 16, 2013 at 9:06 pm

      Your welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

       
  4. Margot Kinberg

    January 15, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Virginia – Oh, you are singing my song as the saying goes. I don’t have the luxury right now of writing full-time either. I hope one day that I will but it’s just not like that now. I have complete empathy for your frustration about making progress. For what it’s worth, I try to be kind to myself and remember that even one sentence is better than not writing. I find if I do even a five-minute sketch of a scene of physical description of a character, I feel less stress and I do make progress.

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
