RSS

Writing Dates

29 Jun

small_2565417359

This has been a much better week for writing. I’ve managed several writing sessions this week and plan to write more later today. 

I posted on Facebook about my writer date this week. That was initiated by a long distance writer friend Nicole. I admire her so much. She drives to Des Moines once a month from Oelwein a city two hours away for a monthly meeting of Iowa Romance Novelists, the oldest Iowa chapter of RWA. I am lucky enough to live in a city that has several different active writing groups. I participate in two of them but I am just like Nicole. If I had to drive to meet with other writers, I would do it. There is something about the atmosphere in a room full of writers and I am fortunate enough to belong to two groups that really support the members.

That writer date was fun. It was another chance to visit with Nicole but it also gave us someone to create with and made us accountable; even if it was only for an hour. I have always thought that when writers write together there is a synergy. You can feel the vibrations of creativity surrounding you. But with busy lives it is difficult to schedule time to meet and write. I feel like Nicole and I shared a little synergy the other night.

This week we got online a little before 8:00 and set our goals for the session and then we wrote for half an hour. We got back on the Facebook chat to see how we did and then we wrote for another half hour. I was able to finish one scene and begin another. I wrote 700 words that hour. 

This idea is not new. If you have ever read the Writer’s Book of Days,Judy Reeves has had meetings with other writers to write for years. By the way it is a great book for inspiration. Lots of prompts and writing tips.

I’m not saying that this is the only way to get the words on the page. It is an alternative for one writing session a week. I have been trying to write daily anyway. I think it is best if you are friends because that will make you want to show up and not disappoint someone who might call you on it.

I have done this as a group for a monthly meeting before with IRN, Sisters in Crime, and Nano. If you write, I think you would be surprised at how it feels in the room. Everyone together but off in their own writing world clicking away on their laptops or writing with pad and paper. If you have the opportunity to do this, don’t pass it up.

How do you write? Do you always write alone or have you tried writing as a group?

How is your writing going?

Pushing forward, keep writing.

Virginia

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/jillclardy/2565417359/”>Jill Clardy</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Writing Dates

  1. christinalay

    June 29, 2013 at 9:58 am

    I totally agree about the synergy of writing with others. While most of my writing is done in the usual hermit-style, (alone and unloved, sniff) I often meet with a writer friend at coffee shops, libraries and any place else that won’t kick us out.

    Like

     
    • virginiagruver

      June 29, 2013 at 11:28 am

      Thanks Christina. Hope your projects are going well.

      Like

       

What do you think?

 
