RSS

Dealing with the Dreaded D Word and Writing

02 Mar

I received a birthday present I would like to return but it isn’t possible. I was diagnosed with diabetes this past week. My first reaction was shock. I have started on some medication and will be meeting with a dietitian soon. I am incapable of waiting and know that most of what I need to do is up to me so I bought a book on the disease and started making my game plan.

I have been losing weight slowly since Christmas so I was already headed in the right direction there. The book and googling American Diabetes Association has me on the right track with my diet and how to eat. I am using an app on my smart phone that I used in the past for weight loss to track calories. I am now tracking carbs. I have added exercise. Trying to get 30 minutes a day at least 6 times a week. Am looking forward to walking around a lake in the area as soon as the weather allows. In the meantime, I am using a stationary bike.

So far I have lost 10 pounds since Christmas but I have a long way to go. I am still a little scared but I trust that if I do what I am supposed to do I can keep this under control.

I am also high risk for cancer and while I was so worried about that, Diabetes sneaked up on me.

Needless to say, my stress level has had as many peaks and valleys the last few days as my glucose level. I can’t describe the sensation but I just feel off sometimes. I don’t know if it is stress or I am more aware of my body than I was. I think I have been dealing with this for a while and didn’t realize what was happening. Everything I have read so far says that once I get the glucose level in my target range I will feel better.

I thought I found it difficult to write before, thinking I didn’t always have enough time. Now I have to fit in exercise and meal planning, and learning how many carbs are in everything I eat. I guess if I can fit that into my daily routine, I can also fit in time to write regularly but not this week.

I do not have a family history of the disease but my favorite past times are reading, writing, and movies. None involve a lot of physical activity. I used to be very active. I worked in a corporate wellness center for five years and I told my boss at that time that it probably lengthened my life. Once I left that job, I guess I didn’t think about it. I figured I was getting older and I deserved to be able to take it a little more easy.

I guess I was wrong. Writers are more prone to being sedentary.  Think about your diet and move more. Don’t let this happen to you.

It is not all doom and gloom. With weight loss, I will be able to keep things under control and hopefully prevent complications. It will take me a very long time. At the rate I am going, I will reach the goal weight I want next January, unless my increased activity cuts that down.

All of this has lead to more stress than I ever wanted to deal with but I am. I want to write and to do it, I have to get myself into the right (write) frame of mind and I will, because I want it bad enough.

I will post once in a while about my journey with this dreaded disease but most of my posts will be about what I love, the craft of writing.

Please feel free to share your experiences. How do you deal with stress? Do you fit in regular workouts?

Virginia

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Dealing with the Dreaded D Word and Writing

  1. virginiagruver

    March 5, 2014 at 7:06 pm

    Thanks Christy. People really don’t realize how serious it is. I have had people tell me, it will be all right once you lose some weight. It will be better but it doesn’t go away and there are so many complications. I have also had people say “It could be worse.” Until it happens to you, I think it really is difficult for people to comprehend what you are going through. It is life changing and very scary. I do have a better grasp of it than I did last week. Have been reading everything I can find and doing the things I should have been doing all along. I do appreciate your kind words though.

    Like

     
  2. Christy

    March 3, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Diabetes and stroke have always worried me – stroke is in my family. I am too sedentary and vow to pick up the pace…but somehow. My prayers are with you Virginia! I’m with you!

    Like

     
  3. virginiagruver

    March 2, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    Thanks for the kind thoughts. I am a strong person and I will do what I have to do.

    Like

     
  4. Margot Kinberg

    March 2, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    Virginia – I’m very sorry to hear about your diagnosis. It means re-thinking a lot of things and that’s always difficult. I admire you for taking active steps to manage your health; that’s an important part of dealing with this I think: empowerment.

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
