RSS

A Conference Saved My Blog

22 Aug

Killer Nashville Panel1

I just got back from Killer Nashville – a mystery writers conference and it breathed life back into my flagging writing career. I not only am thrilled to be starting a mystery project but I also felt the need to bring life back to my dead blog.

This is going to be just a brief post. I have been gone for way too long. Short story, health and life issues pulled me away. Now life is much better and I miss blogging. I plan to ease back into this, hopefully a blog a week. All about writing depending on what is going on around me at the time.

I am an avid reader so will continue to read and review books just for the love of reading and maybe helping readers find stories that I enjoyed.

I hope to write about the craft of writing as I continue to write my novels. As I get further along in this adventure I hope to look a little more at the business end of writing but to be honest, I have to wait until I have a little more experience with that part of it. I will share my experience as I write my own novel, what stage I am in, what I am doing, what’s working, what isn’t working, and looking for suggestions from my friends who write and read my blog.

I hope to continue author interviews because I feel there is so much to learn from those who have already been there, done it.

I am also hoping to bring back the joy of blogging.

And oh by the way, that big dude in the middle is one of my local writing friends and mister in crime – Stephen Brayton, talking about how to use your day job to feed your writing career – in more ways than one. You can check out his book – Alpha – set in Des Moines with a protagonist who is a detective who is also into the martial arts.

For now keep reading and writing!

Virginia

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “A Conference Saved My Blog

  1. Anita Carter

    August 22, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    I’m so glad you found your fire again! Can’t wait to hear more about your mystery project!

    Like

     
  2. Barbara Barrett

    August 22, 2016 at 1:30 pm

    So glad you came away from your conference with renewed energy and enthusiasm for your writing. We missed you at the retreat, but it sounds like you made the right choice.

    Like

     
  3. Margot Kinberg

    August 22, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    Delighted to see you again! I look forward to your future posts.

    Like

     

What do you think?

 
