RSS

Daily Archives: September 12, 2016

A Rose By Any Other Name…

rose

I have had so much overtime for the past few months and it is making it a little more difficult to jump enthusiastically into my project.  In the past, I have tried to work a little bit each of my four work days to keep my three day weekend for writing and all the other tasks everyone has to do like, cleaning, laundry, shopping, and trying to spend a little quality time with family. Since I work a 10 hour day, I finally decided it was too much so started using my Monday off for overtime. The last few weeks we have had less overtime each week so I think it is trending to the point it will go away for a while.

I completed my hours for the week today and decided I needed to post my blog since I missed it last week so here is what I am doing:

I continue to develop my story for the new project. I am trying to name my characters. For those who don’t write, it is almost like naming your children. The name has to fit the character, their age, gender, and personality. You have to like the name and feel comfortable with it because you will be spending a lot of time with this fictional character. I am struggling a little with my protagonist. I’ve got a couple names so far but no last name yet. The only name I have decided on is the victim and her name is Faith. So I am hoping to push forward with the names today so I can move forward with this project.

Here are a couple of books I use for naming characters. Do you have a favorite character naming book? Would love to see what other writer’s use.

baby-name-books

 

I am also trying to start revising my completed project. I will share more about that process as I get further into it.

We have a Harlequin Editor coming to our Iowa Romance Novelist meeting in October  to do a program and am hoping to maybe make a connection to pitch the romance down the road, maybe.  I am reading a couple books on revision to help me get started. Will share those next week.

If you are in the Des Moines area and would be interested in a writer’s workshop. My chapter of Romance Writer’s of America – Iowa Romance Novelists will have a Red Quill Workshop October 15th from 10:00 AM to 2:30 PM with a Harlequin Editor. This workshop will give you the inside track on the art and business of writing and publishing from an editor of one of the biggest publishing houses. Mystery, suspense, women’s fiction, romance, young adult, or any other genre. This is an amazing chance to meet a Harlequin editor face to face. Check it out on our Iowa Novelists Facebook page. Hope to see you.

I just finished reading ‘Last Ragged Breath’ by Julia Keller. She is one of my favorite authors. Just noticed her newest book just came out so will have to buy it – ‘Sorrow Road’. If you’re looking for an enjoyable mystery series, do check this one out. What are you reading? I am always looking for a new author.

Until next time, keep reading and writing.

Virginia

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2016 in Uncategorized

 
 
